How do you record Roland Vdrumz

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
Radic
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:08 am
Location: Nimbin Australia
Contact:

How do you record Roland Vdrumz

Post by Radic » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:37 am

Greetnz
I hav just scored a set of Roland TD3 electric vdrums
dem sound wicked
Whats the best way to record electric drums???????

we hav Midi in/out
+
stereo out or mono out
+
Headphones stereo out

thanx

8-)
Radic
www.earthreggae.com

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by interruptor » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:31 pm

If you have no individual outs for each drum sound you are limited when adjusting the drum sound in the mix. (like separate EQing for snare and bass drum). So I'd say you should also record the midi signal. This way you can trigger your own drum samples in a sampler or drum module (hardware or plugin) which has the individual outs.

User avatar
KoCha
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2002 10:38 am
Location: Switzerland

Post by KoCha » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:21 am

I have same drum bro, but was surprised by the noise coming threw the main output... a shame.

Best is to record in MIDI to get each track splitted and then playback midi with a good sampler (or reuse the one of the TD3 but playing each track one by one).

It's the way I use it and I achieve pretty nice sound !
KoCha, reggae-dub producer

Almighty Dub Records - Independent Reggae Dub Production
Open Dub Foundation - The WorldWide Dub Meeting

Radic
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:08 am
Location: Nimbin Australia
Contact:

Post by Radic » Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:57 am

Thanx for the tips
eh
I dont have any probs wid Niose from de TD3 st out
check ya leads bro
i use hi qual leads and run dem well away and totaly seperated from any electric power leads
yes i

Yo
dats been mi workaround too
first i record a mono guide drum track of the whole kit while jammin wid the band or as an over dub
then i record each instrument mono to it own track
that works fine for some drummers
but for most well experanced mussoz it better to capture de vibes live
and to make dem a go over their work seams a wast of time since we already decided thats the take we want and it is already recorded


all the Midi drums i tried so far still wont give mi control over each drum
i use Nuendo3 and it comes wid a vst kit LM7 pluss i have tried two other free vst kits Drumatic3 and drumatic VE

has anyone checked BFD yet
i checked a demo it look so cool
but i cant try it propley cause theres no drum kit samples in the demo
grrr
also
BFD is very expensive
is there any cheaper vst drum allturnitive that can deliver?????

another workaround i tried is to record both midi and analog stereo
the TD3 brain will let mi
pan snr and timbarle hard left
kik and toms hard right
and pull the hatz and crash vloume down to bleed levelz or less
now bring de volume fe hatz & crash back up from midi track
and deleate the rest of the kit from midi
again big time waster setting up levelz and headphone mixes
it tendz to level de musso's vibes too
if ya know what i mean
hey i jus tort
what bout if i duplicate a copy of the midi track for each instrument and delete or mute out all i dont want for each track
dat might work
hafe try dat
gota go
guidance
Radic
www.earthreggae.com

User avatar
KoCha
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2002 10:38 am
Location: Switzerland

Post by KoCha » Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:32 pm

Fuc*** electricity...

Made bad noise in lot of hardware... need to find a solution cause it's too affect my analog fx when mixing...

I want independent dedicate electro alimentation for each of my hardware ;)

BTW I recommend you try the last technik
KoCha, reggae-dub producer

Almighty Dub Records - Independent Reggae Dub Production
Open Dub Foundation - The WorldWide Dub Meeting

Post Reply