New replacement tape loops

Moderator: interruptor

set.go.studio
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 6:55 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by set.go.studio » Thu Sep 13, 2001 6:55 pm

I thought some of you would be interested in this: <BR> <BR>Set.go.studio announces the SGS-EL &#40;set.go.studio-echo.loop&#41;; a brand new, replacement tape-loop for use in vintage analogue tape delays such as the Space Echo and Echoplex. No more endless and expensive searches for original replacement tapes! Our loops are hand made from professional grade materials and are guaranteed to give new life to echo units suffering from deteriorating tapes. <BR> <BR>For more info, go to: <BR><A HREF="http://angelfire.com/my/Gys/sgs-el/index.html" TARGET="_top">http://angelfire.com/my/Gys/sgs-el/index.html</A>

Looter
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 5:34 pm
Location: US

New replacement tape loops

Post by Looter » Fri Sep 14, 2001 6:55 am

Why don't you just take apart an old 8-track tape and make your own loops? Just get a 1/4" splicing block. I have found that this kind of tape &#40;silicone lubricated&#41; lasts longer and jams less in my tape echo. Editall makes good splicing blocks, look for one on ebay. I got a whole kit including the block, splicing tape, razor blades and a grease pencil for about $13 US.

DC
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 9:18 am

New replacement tape loops

Post by DC » Fri Sep 14, 2001 1:38 pm

Best tape to use for old tapedelays is simple, cheap and ordinairy LUBtape as being used for jinglecards, good saturation. Run it for 3 hours orso on the delay before actual use.

Looter
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 5:34 pm
Location: US

New replacement tape loops

Post by Looter » Sun Sep 16, 2001 2:13 pm

What are jinglecards? The tapes they use at radio stations?

DC
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 9:18 am

New replacement tape loops

Post by DC » Mon Sep 17, 2001 8:42 am

Yes, tapes used at radio stations &#40;in the older days, now they use minidisc&#41; <BR> <BR>DC

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by HM » Mon Sep 17, 2001 3:50 pm

>> 1/4" splicing block <BR> <BR>where to bye these, &#40;prefer german net-shop&#41; ? <BR> <BR>How to do it manually ? <BR> <BR>Can any common tape&acute;s from scotts/3M be used ? <BR> <BR>&#40;roland don&acute;t supply Space-echo anymore&#41; <BR> <BR>-HM

Looter
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 5:34 pm
Location: US

New replacement tape loops

Post by Looter » Mon Sep 17, 2001 4:53 pm

HM: Try looking for shops in germany that specialize in analog recording equipment. They're probably your best bet for finding one.

DC
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 9:18 am

New replacement tape loops

Post by DC » Tue Sep 18, 2001 8:41 am

Any tape can be used as long as it's not metal grade. You can try to fins an old damaged revox machine. splicing blocks are built on them and you can easily rip it off. <BR> <BR>To make you tape loop you just need a block and some tape to get the end together. The revox blocks have a cutter built in the block wich cuts diagonal.

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by HM » Tue Sep 18, 2001 1:57 pm

Thank&acute;s for the reply&acute;s <BR> <BR>Maybe I could make a block myself <BR>and use a razor-blade to cut,.... <BR> <BR>If making the cut diagonal would <BR>it be best to make it "1/1" as a <BR>45 degree cut or would it be any <BR>better/worse to make the the over- <BR>lab longer by lovering cut-angle <BR>under 45 degree <BR> <BR>Can I use any normal office-tape <BR> <BR>-HM

Looter
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 5:34 pm
Location: US

New replacement tape loops

Post by Looter » Wed Sep 19, 2001 5:12 pm

You can always splice it freehand by scotch taping the two ends of your 1/4" tape lightly onto a tabletop or something. Then cut through both ends at once w/ a diagonal cut and tape them together. You can use regular scotch or whatever tape for the splice, as long as it wont ooze sticky stuff and you cut its width down to just under 1/4". When thats all done, you just remove the two pieces of tape that you applied LIGHTLY to hold the loop tape down on the table. <BR> <BR>It makes more sense once you actually try it. I'd still recommend getting a small splicing block, though. It simplifies the whole process. And use silicone lube tape, like we've discussed in this post. I've read on websites that even the standard Ampex tape isnt suitable and that it will cause your heads to wear more. <BR> <BR>Ok, one last thing: The hard part is getting 15 feet of tape put into a perfect loop with no twists, etc. I've found that loading most of the tape into the echo machine's hopper before making the splice is the easiest way to do this. <BR> <BR>-Looter

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by HM » Wed Sep 19, 2001 7:07 pm

Thank&acute;s <BR> <BR>My old trape is tired, I soon have to deal <BR>with this thing :-&#41; <BR> <BR>-HM

Kris Geren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:05 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by Kris Geren » Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:05 pm

I have found new old stock reels of Scotch #150 silicon lubricated, 1/4" tape online for $15. Apparently Scotch made the original RT-1L loops. These reels have 1800 ft of tape, as far as I can tell the loops run anywhere from 14'-17', which means you can make 100-120 loops from one reel of this tape. The loops should last 6 months &#40;300 hours&#41; so you do the math. Should last you forever.

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

New replacement tape loops

Post by interruptor » Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:28 pm

Kris: Do you have a link to that site?

Kris Geren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:05 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by Kris Geren » Wed Oct 01, 2003 11:07 pm

I do but I have purchased all of the 'lubricated' stock he had. Here's the link anyway, might be worth e-mailing to see if he has a lead on anymore: <BR> <BR>http://www.jukn55.com/other-items-reeltoreeltapes.html <BR> <BR>Also look for these reels on ebay, there are two NOS unopened reels on there right now, but they're getting higher than I want to pay: <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... =1602&rd=1" TARGET="_top">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 02&rd=1</A> <BR> <BR>You can also look for Scotch or 3M NOS blank 8 track cassettes on ebay, there's a whole case on there right now: <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... egory=1601" TARGET="_top">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... ry=1601</A>

Looter
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 5:34 pm
Location: US

New replacement tape loops

Post by Looter » Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:19 pm

Wow, good find Kris! Please let us know how this tape performs for you.

Kris Geren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:05 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by Kris Geren » Fri Oct 03, 2003 10:11 pm

I've found a source for new production, lubricated 1/4" tape: <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://www.cartguys.com/" TARGET="_top">http://www.cartguys.com/</A> <BR> <BR>So loop it up. <BR> <BR>Also another board for tape delays at: <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://pub45.ezboard.com/ftelrayoilcanaddictsfrm4" TARGET="_top">http://pub45.ezboard.com/ftelrayoilcanaddictsfrm4</A>

audioforge
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 8:22 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by audioforge » Sat Oct 04, 2003 4:01 pm

according to 3m scotch specifications: scotch 150 are NOT back lubricated! series number:151,153,154,156,157 and 158 are back lubricated. it will work of course but better find those real lubricated scotch tape or cartridge as fidelipac. audioforge

Kris Geren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:05 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by Kris Geren » Sat Oct 04, 2003 4:42 pm

I'm confused, they say 'Silicon Lubricated' right on the packaging.

audioforge
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 8:22 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by audioforge » Sat Oct 04, 2003 5:49 pm

hi kris. the side in contact with the head is silicon lubricated but the back is polyester non treated on the scotch 150. as i said it will works as any tape do.but it seems that cartridge tape run smoother longer and provide less friction on roller so less flutter. for info you can find all scotch tape specifications on this page: <A HREF="http://www.aes.org/aeshc/docs/3mtape/aorprod2.html" TARGET="_top">http://www.aes.org/aeshc/docs/3mtape/aorprod2.html</A> . hope it helps . cheers. audioforge

Kris Geren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:05 pm

New replacement tape loops

Post by Kris Geren » Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:25 pm

Ahhhh, okay...I see. Thanks very much for the info. Onto tracking down cartridge tape. There is a company out of Arizona that sells Dynamax tape for cartridge refills I guess. <BR> <BR>www.cartguys.com

Post Reply