How can i use fader as aux.

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
BaggaDubs
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:48 pm

How can i use fader as aux.

Post by BaggaDubs » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:55 pm

How can i use the fader as aux. Have see people do it. I will use the fader insted of the aux knob. How do i do it on my mixing desk?

Siggi Holiday
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:40 pm

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by Siggi Holiday » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:51 pm

mhhh... you are talking either using the Group Faders (1/2,3/4) for the selected channels (Desk Group out - Effekt- Desk Return)

or the desks have a feature called "swap" or "flip". On my soundcraft gb4 i am able to use the 4 Groupfaders as aux sends 1-4.

All the Best

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1176
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by interruptor » Sun Apr 19, 2020 7:08 pm

Russ Disciple recently shared on Facebook two videos of himself dubbing. He seems to be doing just what you described.
On his digital desk he is switching the left hand faders to different functions several times during each take.



Laziko
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:03 am

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by Laziko » Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:32 am

interruptor wrote:
Sun Apr 19, 2020 7:08 pm
Russ Disciple recently shared on Facebook two videos of himself dubbing. He seems to be doing just what you described.
On his digital desk he is switching the left hand faders to different functions several times during each take.


Hmmm, this is interesting, I like how he is doing it. I will try to do the same in my property in Cyprus here this weekend. Hope it come out as nicely as on these videos

BaggaDubs
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:48 pm

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by BaggaDubs » Sun Oct 04, 2020 12:33 am

i have seen scentist do it to on his mixer. My be on only digital mixer you can do it?

Siggi Holiday
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:40 pm

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by Siggi Holiday » Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:20 pm

I am using the Soundcraft GB4 and you can use the group faders (on the right side) as aux Send 1-4.

Aux1 Re-20 / Aux 2 DIY delay/AUX 3 Gate/ Aux 4 Spring


AUX1Dub
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by AUX1Dub » Mon Dec 14, 2020 12:55 pm

You need a mixer that has group bus sends. Instead of Aux Send, you use the Group Send.

Send from group bus out into effect and back into a spare channel. Now when turn the bus on that channel and turn up the the Group Bus fader it will trigger the effect.

This is the only way to Dub as you can easily add echo to multiple channels and with aux sends you can only do one at a time. Also you can easily layer fx onto the return channel via aux sends.

Here’s me using that technique a long time ago.


AUX1Dub
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by AUX1Dub » Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:02 pm

I also want to mention that if you use a decent echo and a board that has a sub group bus section, you can turn the group the echo is on, on itself to feedback. This way the higher you turn up the bus volume , the more the echo feedsback.

Mannanan Hi-Fi
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2021 6:58 pm

Re: How can i use fader as aux.

Post by Mannanan Hi-Fi » Sun Mar 21, 2021 7:03 pm

just a note on what Russ Disciple is using in the vid. That is an icon midi controller, similiar to a Mackie set-up, but not a digital mixer. Peace

Post Reply