DUB DUB DISCUSSION BOARD
A place to discuss the production techniques of dub music.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cubase SX - MIDI track routing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> COMPUTER DUB : OTHER
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dubman



Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:07 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

Hello guys,
maybe you could help me out.
Using Cubase SX and a multi-out soundcard, how do i route a MIDI track of the project to, say out#2/3 of my soundcard? Is it any possible without converting MIDi data into audio?
thanks,
Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Neil C



Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 364
Location: Moonbase Alpha

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

Go into vst connections in the devices menu.
Add a bus.
Click on the related device port and you will get a choice of what device port you want to use for that bus.
Now in the project window the audio tracks out menus should show you a choice of all the busses (which will be using the ports you have set for them) you have set up.

Of course this is all audio outputs, most soundcards don't recieve midi data (although some do have onboard sounds and therefore do - in this case refer to the instructions for your soundcard).

VST instruments will (in SX2 and 3 at least) have their own audio track where you can specify the audio out bus that they use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dubman



Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:10 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

Thanks Neil C!

I will try to figure it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dubman



Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:36 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

Yes-I!
Neil, i was able to route my audio track to "out2-3", so my midi tracks remained on "out1-2". But, using SX2 i didnt notice (or didnt realized how to notice) that the VSTi had it's own audio track so i could specify a bus on it. It's just MIDI track where "midi in" is my soundcards name and "midi out" is the VSTi's name. Could you possibly explain this to me?
T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Neil C



Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 364
Location: Moonbase Alpha

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:51 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

When I load a VST instrument into the VST instruments list, 2 new lanes are placed on to the project window (at the bottom - you may need to scroll down to see them). The second track has the audio out options for the vsti on it.

Also if you go into the mixer you will see your vsti has its own channel (again you may need to scroll to see it). Click on the e symbol ('edit instrument channel settings') and the window that appears will also show the audio outs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dubman



Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

..nope, nothing dere.
i should probably upgrade to sx3. thanks a lot anyways, man!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Neil C



Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 364
Location: Moonbase Alpha

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:21 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

I checked it in SX2, works for me.

Can you not see your vsti instrument channel in the mixer (which is a seperate screen)?
Unless you have the mixer set to hide vst channels (its the symbols on the left) it will definitely be there. It will definitley have the 'e' symbol , and on the edit screen window there will defintitely be in the top left a little drop down list that gives you your available audio busses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dubman



Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:38 pm    Post subject: Cubase SX - MIDI track routing Reply with quote

Hi!
when i press the e button of the midi track in the mixer window, on the top left, then i can see a drop down menu list like this : "midi in" (da controlla), "midi out" (da VSTi-
s name) and the "channel", where i can choose: ANY 1 2 3 4 5 etc... it's a midi channel, i assume... So again midi in is the controller, midi out is the VSTi and....i can not see the "audio 2" (the bus i've created)

I'm trying to send my MIDI tracks to the mixing console, fix dem a little bit in terms of equalisation you know.... rub-a-dub just a little bit... and i cant do that. I got all my midi tracks on out 1-2 of my sound card....
......arggggh
i'm getting tired of the applications, is it time for me to built some kind of a sound system.. :-) I better be soldering...
Thank you Neil_C once again man! no_jokes
Cubase is a difficult one, now i can overstand dat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> COMPUTER DUB : OTHER All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group