How can you Dub live?

Moderator: interruptor

User avatar
Neil C
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 1:38 pm
Location: Moonbase Alpha
Contact:

How can you Dub live?

Post by Neil C » Sat Sep 25, 2004 3:17 pm

Pete- whereabouts in the country do you gig?

Pete Collis
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:49 pm

How can you Dub live?

Post by Pete Collis » Thu Sep 30, 2004 9:05 am

Hey Neil <BR>we only play out a couple of times a year. The main reason for this is the hassle of rehearsals. I have to deconstruct my studio and take it all along to the practice rooms and then set it up again to continue working on the tacks. This can get a bit annoying. Lazy, I know! We usually play in the South-East UK. If you typr The Deverills into Google and follow the site that has "Panther Studios" in the address there are some photo's from one of our gigs last year. <BR>Do you play in a band yourself? We can rarely find good acts to gig with in the area who play good music thats suited to ours. <BR>Pete

User avatar
Neil C
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 1:38 pm
Location: Moonbase Alpha
Contact:

How can you Dub live?

Post by Neil C » Thu Sep 30, 2004 2:01 pm

I have exactly the same problem - deconstructing my studio which is now cosily and ergonomically lodged in the corner of my room &#40;in a kind of high rise fashion&#41;. I have been out live with it &#40;very successfully&#41;- but it was a bit of a hassle lugging the stuff then, and since then I've added more stuff, not all of which I would take out live but which means taking out the bits I want to take more of a hassle. <BR>However I will be making the effort again quite soon. <BR>I'm based in Reading, Berkshire. <BR>You can check some of my music at: <BR><A HREF="http://www.soundclick.com/bands/4/vitalfeedmusic.htm" TARGET="_top">http://www.soundclick.com/bands/4/vitalfeedmusic.htm</A>

Pete Collis
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:49 pm

How can you Dub live?

Post by Pete Collis » Fri Oct 01, 2004 8:51 am

Hey Neil <BR>Whats the name of your band? Is it just yourself or are there any other band members? I'm only about 20 minutes away from Reading and it's good to know that there are other people making good music in the area. You know how it is, you always think you're the only one in your shitty town making this music &#40;actually, in Farnborough, I think we are!!&#41;. Maybe we could hook up for a gig some time. I'm thinking about planning something for next summer &#40;maybe at South Hill Park Arts Centre&#41;.

User avatar
Neil C
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 1:38 pm
Location: Moonbase Alpha
Contact:

How can you Dub live?

Post by Neil C » Fri Oct 01, 2004 1:24 pm

The name of my act is Vital Feed - I've only gone out live with it once a while ago. <BR>The next live thing I do will probably be a sideline project under a different name, but I hope to be going out as Vital Feed again at some point. <BR>I've played at the Bracknell festival at South Hill Park for the last 5 or 6 &#40;I can't quite rememeber&#41; times its been on with another band I'm in who do African style guitar music &#40;called Alanga&#41;. <BR> <BR>When I played as Vital Feed it was me and one oher person. I mainly played bass along to sequenced stuff and my colleague was mainly playing percussion along with it all. But I also varied it by getting on to my electronics now and again and also doing some 'live' sequencing &#40;on my hardware groove module - Yamaha RM1X&#41;. We managed to do an hour and a half which is pretty good for a first gig - and the crowd still wanted more. The next time I go out with it I'd like to get some more people involved to make it more live and ideally a kit drummer as well. <BR> <BR>If you've heard my music &#40;see link in previous post&#41; and you think our bands/act would work well together I'd been really keen to hook up.

Pete Collis
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:49 pm

How can you Dub live?

Post by Pete Collis » Fri Oct 01, 2004 4:00 pm

I can't download but if you've got a demo you send me I'll give you an address to post it to. I've got some stuff I could send you in return. I'm also a drummer and I'm waiting for a project to come along that requires funky hip-hop beats. Maybe we could explore this. <BR>Cheers <BR>Pete

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

How can you Dub live?

Post by HM » Fri Oct 01, 2004 4:17 pm

I just did hear his music from that link !!! <BR> <BR>page loads very slow at my 512kbs line but <BR>the streaming does work when activated <BR> <BR>HM <BR> <BR>btw. nice tunes

McPullish
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 9:08 pm

How can you Dub live?

Post by McPullish » Fri Mar 11, 2005 10:09 pm

In reference to John and Mike's comments-I've played live quite successfully with a Mac running my recordings &#40;all analog, real instruments, no sequencing&#41; thru a 12 channel Soundcraft and some useful effects. I've had live musicians on stage &#40;vox,congas,sax, flute&#41;, but I think for dub the engineer needs total control of the rhythm&#40;drums and bass.&#41; There used to be downtime between tunes from loading and closing each track, but now I use a Line 6 delay to create loops out of the tracks that run between songs. For instance-I'll record 4 bars of drums/perc., double time it and lay 2 bars of bass, guitars ,etc. and create a little "remix" loop on the fly that makes a good transition to the next tune. People hear this and usually enjoy the improv aspect. Every time I play it's different sounds. As far as dubbing live bands is concerned- it can be cool but is usually limited by the fact that most musicians &#40;even great ones&#41; are thrown off by truly crazy dub effects and dropouts. The "dub master" will throw in cool effects here and there- but it's not dub in the true sense of the engineer's vision. I've seen Scientist and Mad Professor "dub" live bands and there were some nice moments but not really dub compared to their usual craziness in the studio. As a dub nerd I'd trade the band for real dub, and the only logical way to do this &#40;for me, at least&#41; is a computer with real sounds on it. Spinning records is fine and the simplest, but for true dubwise action you need control of the individual instrument buses. This does require moving a lot of gear which is why I strip it down to the essentials live and leave most of the studio home. It's still much more fun than setting up drums, micing everything, and dealing with inevitable problems like feedback due to echoes, etc. Check my website-www.mcpullish.com- if you want to see pics of this setup. There are no rules and the sound is what should matter. Dub It!

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 10:44 am

How can you Dub live?

Post by Meef Chaloin » Tue May 24, 2005 10:44 am

Hey, that's cool to hear that there are people dubbing around here. Im in Oxford & although there are a few bands & shows about they're mostly dj's. Im working on a live set now, computer based & solo but i'll be playing guitar and didj live. Should be interesting if i can ever get it sorted out. <BR> <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://www.versionist.com/artist.php?ar ... %2BCHALOIN" TARGET="_top">http://www.versionist.com/artist.php?ar ... CHALOIN</A>

Peter M
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:21 am

How can you Dub live?

Post by Peter M » Sun May 29, 2005 10:15 pm

that would be quite a sight meef...u gonna play the keys w/ yr feet too ? <BR> <BR>Pete M

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 10:44 am

How can you Dub live?

Post by Meef Chaloin » Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:41 pm

haha yes Peter, I'll have a midi pedal assigned to different things so I can trigger music or fx with my feet ;&#41;

Armin Tanzarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:03 pm

How can you Dub live?

Post by Armin Tanzarian » Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:03 pm

refer to grimy styles. A dub quartet from austin, texas where each player is their own engineer, &#40;including drummer&#41; <BR> <BR><a href="http://www.grimystyles.com" target="_blank">www.grimystyles.com</a>

Downpressor
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:27 am

How can you Dub live?

Post by Downpressor » Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:41 am

I've been considering this topic alot more lately. My studio setup is iMac/Logic/Mackie MCU based and I simply refuse to move it around. I considered powerbook|ibook/Logic & a Tascam US428, but I no longer own a functioning laptop so thats out of the question for now. <BR> <BR>I've heard that the "delay between songs" problem can be addressed with Ableton Live, but I dont own it so I cant say. For me there would also be the issue of transferring my work between Logic & Live. <BR> <BR>When I saw Mad Prof a few months back, there was little time lag between songs and it looked like he was working some kind of mixer. I'm thinking perhaps he was using some kind of hardware DAW unit like those from Tascam, Zoom, Yamaha, etc. I've looked at them a bit, but the low-medium priced ones have too few physical controls for me to do a dub mix &#40;no per channel EQ knobs, FX/bus send knobs, or really any knobs besides pan on most units&#41;. Does anyone have experience using one of these?

unityunityunity
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:24 am
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Post by unityunityunity » Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:47 am

Just wanted to say that The Drastics are awesome,

and an other band that does live dubbing is Dub Trio.



If you watch some live videos (probably on youtube)
You'll see how they manage dubbing live...

also a group called Gaudi.
Ive watched some of their live performances online..
they've got guys all over tweakin stuff.

Post Reply