DUB DUB DISCUSSION BOARD
A place to discuss the production techniques of dub music.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

akai s3000xl

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> INSTRUMENTS : SAMPLERS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blue eye



Joined: 11 Apr 2002
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 9:21 pm    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

I found a akai s3000xl with 32mb ram for 400$, is it a good price?

/Blue eye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2002 1:49 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

it's a VERY good price. just make sure that everything works. it's great sampler.
I've got mine for over $1000 back few years ago.
Try to get sample-verb effects card for it later, if you buy this one. Effects of this card are not really top-of-the-line, but they are good quality ..., the reason I am advising to have the card in the sampler, is because I've found it to be VERY VERY useful for the sampler. Everytime you use samples you may experience that sort of 'problem'...when the sample/spound is just fine, but something is missing there so it does not go well with the rest of the mix, and then this effect-board comes very helpful and handy, because you can apply slight effect and in real time while playing back your sequence adjust level of effect, or change effect to compare what works the best.
And it is very easy to do: you just being in 'muli'-mood, select the program you are trying to apply effect, then hit 'effects' button and select effect and %%% of "send".
Also this may give a 'blood and breath' to some samples which you may think/hear as useless as they are dry....

well, good luck,

best regards,
/Mike Zee
zee dub lab

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2002 1:41 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

just couple of things to highlight also:

two big PROs for S3000xl:
1. is really good (i'd say great for sampler) lcd display and functions layout, plus 8-keys buttons, which change their function depending on the page you are in. These keys (placed under the display) will have a signature/function on the display, so you can quickly do all the settings.
It takes time thou to get around the machine, but if you put enough effort, soon you'll start appreciate it. Actually I figured it is so much faster to do everything right there on the front panel of the unit, maybe even more easy than using computer software-based editor, which also available for mac and pc if you really want one, but then get ready to be able to set it up so it all works, you'll need to figure out how to scsi-connect the unit to your computer, or use midi-connection (which is really slow and nearly useles). If you plan on using computer software for sample editing, then I'd advice you to get some sound-card with rca-digital in/out.
2. is analog-8-in/out plus stereo in/out plus digital in/out . Man, this just speaks for itself.

****
one "MINUS" for akai samplers is that they can only read/use akai-sample/programs format. This is somewhat limiting user if you plan/ or already have some other formats sample/program library/collection. Also you can not directly use windows wav-files format. But again, with digital in/out and if you have digital in/out soundcard in your computer, then this is not really a problem. Also if you have CD-player with digital out (which are now pretty cheap), then you can use sample-CD in audio-format, which I think are always the best, because you can quickly find samples you like by listening to the CD, instead of going through loading samples/programs process without knowing what are the samples.
Well, if you are not going to ever use any sample-libraries-CD, but going to make your own samples, recording your own sounds etc... then all this is not an issue for you at all ;).
******
Newer akai samplers are finally can 'deal' with windows/wav(s) ...., well, there are allots of other cool stuff about newer machines...:)
******
32 Meg of RAM is more than enough for the project/track, normally you use less than that, unless you are going to use a bunch of long stereo loops...

Finally, I would advice you to get a separate Zip-Drive (external with SCSI), if you are getting s3000xl. I think zip is 'optimum' media for this sampler. It is very easy to format disc, and you have planty of space on removable disc to store/back-up all your samples/programs/progects.
This may become very important from practical point.
When you project becomes pretty complicated and you may have more than 1.4Meg data in the sampler, so you can not use regualr disc... Then you really will need to be able to back -up the project as WHOLE, especially when you need to pause working and come back to working on the track later, so you'll want to turn everything off, and next day to turn it on, and be ready to work.
Here you need Zip drive. All you do is "hit store" button, then select 'drive' and 'partition(or so called driveA, driveB...), and select "store ENTIRE VOLUME", which will write/back-up all the samples, all the programs, all 'muli-settings and effect-settings(if you havre effect card installed), another words EVERYTHING as is.
So next day all you will need to do is to turn on your sampler, hit 'LOAD' select drive, and load "ENTIRE VOLUME"... and you've got everything back as it was last night :)
As sampler does not have any HARD-data/memory... you really need to think ahead about how are you going to keep all your "stuff" organized. Really, it may look like no-big deal at first, but after some time, you will see how hard it is to work if you don't know what and where everything is with samples/programs ...he he he

*****
ok, man

respects,
/Mike Zee

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue eye



Joined: 11 Apr 2002
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2002 1:37 pm    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

Thaxs Mike!

Is it possible to sample own vocals?

/Blue Eye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2002 9:31 pm    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

Blue Eye,
of course, just like any other sound.
Sampler is a digital-recorder.
Couple things here to note.
First of all to record acoustic sound (vocals, drums, ac.instrument etc) you'll need a mic ..dooooohhh :), well, no Sh***..he he, but I am saying it just to notice here, that it also means that you'll need mic preamp. If you have mixer/mixing-board/mixing-desck with mic input with preamp, then you are generally ready to do record/sample acoustic sounds. You plug mic into mixer's mic input, and line-out of the mixer connect with line in of your sampler. Next you adjust level on the mixer's chnl/or-and line-out of the mixer, and adjust record-level of the sampler. s3000xl has very good record level adjust/setting, display actually shows you real time rec-level, and also wave-form being recorded.
You also can set you sampler to ACTUALLY start recording when sound reaches specified vol.-level.
You also set time to be recorded, so the sampler automatically starts and stops recording.
When recording direct to sampler, it is always better to record as loud as possible without 'clip' - this is actually a general "law" for digital recording.
*****
HOWEVER!!!!
if you have computer with good sound-card, then I'd recommend to record all your sounds, samples/voices etc ... to computer first, then using audio-editing program like SounForge(for example) for what ever nedded editing, and then DIGITALLY (computer sound-card digital out to sampler's digital in) record your samples to you sampler.
You can do allots of wave editing right on the sampler too, and s3000xl has pretty good tools with wave-form view editing, but it's just so much easier and you have so much more options by using audio-editing software.
****
Now, please note one important point about sampler.
Sampler is not just a record-playback of sounds sort of machine, but much more sophisticated 'device'.
The most important is to learn how to creat/program PLAYABLE programs based on wav-forms(samples) you have. Another words, a very simple short tone sample can be turned into synthesiser.
Or like, short monophonic 'ohhh' vocal sample can be turned into Choir. Well, the choir is not going to sound that great as real choir, but more like 'electronic imitation of it'.
I have example of my experiments in trying to create choir-imitation with very simple base-sample. It has couple of samples 'ohhhh' and 'ohh-yeah', and then it was charmonically over-lay(ed)... well, the tune is kinda borring, but check it out if you wish, it was made with s3000xl :).
Link to the track: MASS IN Zm,
it's trip-hop(ish) downtempo track..it's no-dub ;)

****
btw!!!!! important! if you are buying used s3000xl you BETTER make sure you get the MANUAL!!!! the manual is not top-of-the line, but without it , man, you'll really have a hard time with the machine. Manual is a MUST for this one.

later,
respects,
/Mike Zee

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Francis



Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

I have just bought an S-3000XL, with manual but I don't seem to be able to find how I create a program with my samples. I have made a new program and I have sampled my sounds but can't find how to get the samples into the program. PLEASE HELP!!! Before I go mad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:00 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

page 50. Edit Program - Single.
Don't expect to get it in 10 mins ...:) Take your time.
In single mode select program, press edit.... start from there. If there's no programs, there is always a so-called test program. You name it and save. Then edit parameter by parameter.... there's allot to it. Read every page in manual .... this would be a start.
Good luck.
/Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:04 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

if you get into some specific questions, ask away. I have not used mine in a year or so... heh heh ...it's dusting, but I may find a pointy for you...maybe.

/respects,
/Mike Zee
ZEE DUB LAB

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:28 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

I'll jump ahead, and will tell you, that if you simply have problem figuring out how to assign samples to the program, this maybe because the manual is written in a bit strange way, however there's a reason for it... you may figure it out later.
But you can got to page 85. There you get into 'keygroup parameters. That is where you get into sample assignments. Read through. On page 91 the actual sample assigning is described.
Get used to using 8 keys under the display. These keys are also jump-selectors of the pages, which you see on the bottom of the display.
To quickly jump to sample assigning, if I'm not mistaken, you do this: in single mode (hit 'single' key). Select program you want to edit. Hit 'edit' key. Then hit "KGRP" (it will be second key under display). Then hit SMP1. Now you can select sample from available in your memory and also set some parameters for selected samples.
Use cursor to select parameter and use dial-knob to set parameter/select sample. You gotta play with it to get used to ...
Don't go mad. :)

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Francis



Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:31 pm    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

Thank You Mike, Your info has got me off the ground and got my samples into a program, hurrah!!I am getting to grips with the Akai 3000XL, very slowly, it was very good advise, Thanks Again.
Best Regards Francis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 6:23 pm    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

Francis, also, I just want to tell you, even thou I have mine 3000xl for many years and know it pretty much around, but I still keep the manual handy :)... I guess it's just the nature of this kind of gear - LCD - page-by-page parameter editing, multi-functional keys, hidden actions etc etc... you just can not remember or keep it all in mind. If you spend time figuring 3000xl you can do amaizing stuff with this machine. You can create real interesting synth-programs based on some very short and simple sample.
Make sure you learn strongly how to save your creations - remember: power down - everything is gone for good :) heh heh
If you don't have it yet, I would strongly recommend you getting SCSI Zip or Jaz drive to store/load all your programs and samples. I have both Jaz drive and Zip drive chained, and you can select the drive to save/load by selecting SCSI-ID. You can get older jaz or zip used pretty cheap now... just make sure you get correct SCSI cable (jaz drive may need special SCSI-adapter for the cable....

If you get lost somewhere in 3000xl-jungle, drop a note. We'll try to find the way out :)

/respects,
/Mike Zee aka DR ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 1:23 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

DELETED
Back to top
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:56 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

DELETED
Back to top
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:58 am    Post subject: akai s3000xl Reply with quote

DELETED
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> INSTRUMENTS : SAMPLERS All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group