Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
JBSEPIA
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 8:41 pm

Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Post by JBSEPIA » Thu Feb 12, 2004 6:54 am

Hi! <BR>I have a question for you guys: would one be able to use a computer soundcard as an fx loop? ie: send out sound from the computer to an fx processor, and then back on the computer to be recorded? <BR>thank you

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Post by interruptor » Thu Feb 12, 2004 8:56 am

You have to check the specs of the sound card in question. Some DSP based soundcards &#40;like the one i use&#41; can do this. On most normal PC soundcards you will get an unwanted delay. <BR> <BR><FONT COLOR="ff0000">Administrator's Note: When you come up with a new question please post it in the appropriate directory! I had to move this question here manually..</FONT>

JBSEPIA
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 8:41 pm

Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Post by JBSEPIA » Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:32 am

Hi! <BR>I`m not sure wich specs you mean, i have a M-Audio Audiophile. Do you know if this works? <BR>thank you

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Post by interruptor » Tue Apr 06, 2004 9:17 am

i mean: look at the features list of your sound card &#40;in the manual or on the manufaturers website&#41; and check whether they specify the input and output latencies &#40;=delays&#41; which should be very low. You will note those latencies as an unwanted delay.

DELETED

Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Post by DELETED » Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:41 am

DELETED

DELETED

Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Post by DELETED » Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:32 am

DELETED

DELETED

Effects-loop outside the soundcard?

Post by DELETED » Tue Jul 18, 2006 2:10 am

DELETED

Post Reply