Configuring my setup

Moderator: interruptor

Richmo

Configuring my setup

Post by Richmo » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:07 pm

Hey brothers and sisters. First off, MASSIVE RESPECT to this board and all it's participants. This is my first post, so please be patient.

Basically, I have a good understanding of the sound and feel of dub (at least, I know what I like). I'm an amateur when it comes to recording, and i'm not too techno savy. I've been doing all my dubs on Garageband, which is fine for teaching yourself the VERY BASICS, but I don't get the satisfaction of actually MIXING the track levels, effects, etc.

Question 1:
I've seen some KILLER videos of KoCha doing some hands-on digital dubbing with the BCR 2000. I just bought a new mac and also got Logic. Can I get the same results as KoCha with that? I DON'T have an interface wth Midi is why I ask, and it looks like he's using a Midi connection. How did he assign individual tracks and effects to the knobs?

Question 2:
Do I have the components to put together an 'official' dub station? In other words, no digital automation. My equipment consists of

-1 Korg D888 8-track digital recorder/mixer (which til now I've used to record all tracks individually, and dump them on to Garageband for mix)

-1 Yamaha MG 166CX USB mixer(my bands live mixer)

-1 MOTU 828 firewire interface (original model) 8 ins, 8 outs

-Tons of Boss and other guitar effects pedals (which I have read here ARE NOT ideal for outboard effects)

-Tons of instruments,mics, cables, connections, etc.

Question 3:
Is there a thread on here in which users share and discuss their personal setups? I'd love to see how others are dubbing.

Hope my questions aren't too vague. Much appreciative for any and all advice. I hope to be able to share some dubs with you soon. SO GLAD I FOUND THIS SITE!!! DUB FORWARD!!

Respect,
Richmo
javascript:emoticon('8-)')

ocoughi

Post by ocoughi » Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:20 pm

Greetings and welcome...