Tape echo simulators

Moderator: interruptor

aleph
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:08 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by aleph » Tue Jan 07, 2003 9:14 pm

moi non plus, avant d'avoir fait l'"erreur" de le <BR>faire&#40;-<IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;">

Karamel
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:46 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by Karamel » Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:50 pm

Hi <BR>ckeck out the excellent Hughes & Kettner Replex. Its a digital unit but with tubes. I got mine from www.gargantuansound.com

Looter
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 5:34 pm
Location: US

Tape echo simulators

Post by Looter » Sat Jan 11, 2003 11:35 pm

Digital with tubes? Sounds like an oxymoron. ;-&#41;

aleph
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:08 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by aleph » Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:26 am

And digital whithout tube doesn't sound:-&#41;

DC
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 9:18 am

Tape echo simulators

Post by DC » Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:23 pm

What aleph says is the only way to feedback your echo properly, bout the freq to boost depends on your echo unit. <BR> <BR>I have nuff echo units &#40;collect them&#41; from 60`s tape echo with tubes to so called bucket echo to digital ones. The bucket echo is the only one i have that&acute;s not possible to feedback through your desk... phase inverts totally. <BR> <BR>DC

aleph
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:08 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by aleph » Tue Jan 14, 2003 4:23 pm

and it can be dangerous on big sound system;-&#41; <BR>so i use aux pre/post fader switcher like that: <BR>1:put your effect return fader at -5db <BR>2:make a precice "reinjection balance" with aux in pre fad <BR>You have just to switch in pre to have a longer <BR>effect &#40;before a big mute or drum break....&#41; <BR>u can t push your effect ret. aux to far 'cause u don't touch it!

Tone Scientist
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 4:55 am

Tape echo simulators

Post by Tone Scientist » Mon Jan 20, 2003 4:55 am

Hello, <BR>I really like this thread... <BR>I have a small collection of tape, analog, and <BR>digital delays and I like them all for different <BR>uses....Digital delays for short quick delays, <BR>analog delays for long, dubbed out feedback delays. Tape delays are cool but they are kind <BR>of a pain because most of them are already 30 <BR>years old and the tape is getting fragile. <BR> <BR>As far as 2 track tape machines I'd like to <BR>remind everyone of a couple of techniques that <BR>date back to the musique concrete days. One is <BR>tape loops which you make by splicing a length <BR>of tape together. You can make a longer loop by <BR>using a longer length of tape and using a jar <BR>or mic stand to wrap it around. I'm sending you <BR>a link that explains this better. The other technique is to cover the erase head with a piece <BR>of paper, cardboard, or tape. This allows you to <BR>layer sound on sound to create some interesting <BR>textures. On a three head tape system you have a <BR>record head, a playback head and an erase head. <BR>You can also see this in the diagram of the link. Use your creativity and imagination <BR>to apply these techniques to the dub style!!! <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://csunix1.lvc.edu/~snyder/em/mc.html" TARGET="_top">http://csunix1.lvc.edu/~snyder/em/mc.html</A> <BR> <BR>Respect, <BR>Tone Scientist

Nematod
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2001 11:59 am

Tape echo simulators

Post by Nematod » Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:09 am

Hey , id like to add to what tone scientist just said; while looking for endless tape loops , i was told that 8-track tape works in almost the same way , so you could have kilometres of tape inside if you felt like it <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR> I eventually found the Sony RE-5 endless tape , and i believe there is a RE-4 model also , but i havent been able to try out the 8track spool yet. <BR> The fact that the tape is no longer spinning constantly in a small loop , as on the copicats means that the sound quality is better , the tape doesnt wear down as much , and you wont get the tape coming apart at the splice. <BR> This could be something to try out.

Morgan Lin
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 11:41 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by Morgan Lin » Sat Feb 01, 2003 11:41 pm

Hi, <BR> <BR>New to this board while searching for Sony RE-4 endless tape. I have one that is being used in my Hohner Tape Echo unit. I have quite a few of the 8-track tape cartridges. Has anyone tried respool the Sony RE-4 with new tapes? I am thinking of trying it out with the 8-track tapes as they were designed to run continuously. I have spliced some into 20 ft. loop to use it on my Korg Stage Echo and Multivox MX-312 units and the sound is very good. I have heard that the 8-track tapes are lubricated and thus increase tape life. <BR> <BR>Morgan Lin

User avatar
KoCha
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2002 10:38 am
Location: Switzerland

Tape echo simulators

Post by KoCha » Fri Feb 07, 2003 9:14 am

Hohner make tape echo ???? i think they only do musical instrument... &#40;like melodica&#41; <BR> <BR>KoCha
KoCha, reggae-dub producer

Almighty Dub Records - Independent Reggae Dub Production
Open Dub Foundation - The WorldWide Dub Meeting

Nematod
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2001 11:59 am

Tape echo simulators

Post by Nematod » Sat Feb 15, 2003 4:31 pm

Hi morgan , <BR>heres a site with info on 8-tracks: <BR><A HREF="http://www.8trackheaven.com/index2.html" TARGET="_top">http://www.8trackheaven.com/index2.html</A> <BR> <BR> check the section on repairs and how does an 8-track work for info , diagrams etc. <BR> <BR>I havent had to respool the re-5 yet , but its only a matter of time...

Despiracy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 9:39 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by Despiracy » Thu Apr 24, 2003 10:07 am

Joy joy, <BR> <BR>i bought a Line 6 DL4 a couple of months ago and i'm very satisfied. First i had some trouble finding the right value for the knobs, but now i think i got it. POST-EQ is pretty important on this one. I use a mackie desk, sending Aux to the DL4, and on the return channel i turned the midfreq eq to maximum and lowered lowfreq to about 1/4. It gives me a echo sound with a punch. <BR> <BR>Combined with my Ontari tape recorder i think i can get a pretty organic sound. <BR> <BR>I haven't used it in any of my productions though... <BR> <BR>One Love, <BR>Despiracy

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by HM » Thu Apr 24, 2003 2:54 pm

It looks very nice, and even more as rack: <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://www.line6.com/products.asp?ID=75 ... m=143&tp=0" TARGET="_top">http://www.line6.com/products.asp?ID=75 ... 43&tp=0</A> <BR> <BR>Not expensive like TC&acute;s delay II, just I <BR>ask myself if it can do anything that a <BR>cheap plug can&acute;t do better :-&#41;&#41;&#41; <BR> <BR>Anyway some real cool gear is emulated <BR>roland space echo etc etc <BR> <BR>I think the rack-version is on it&acute;s way <BR>to my seccond-hand observation-list <BR> <BR>HM

DJ Brandoa
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:44 am

Tape echo simulators

Post by DJ Brandoa » Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:44 am

Hey. My Buddy just got this effect pedal by Danelectro called "reel echo" which is a tape echo simulator. You can switch between solid state or tube sounds, plus all the expected stuff like delay time, feedback etc. But what's really cool is the "warble" control to simulate un-steady tape speeds. And it sounds friggin sweet!I find Danelectro makes wonderfully authentic sounding and cheep effects. You should check out their slap-back echo too, it's to die for!

Elemental
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 11:58 am

Tape echo simulators

Post by Elemental » Tue Oct 28, 2003 11:58 am

Hey Interruptor, <BR> <BR>I am now searching eBay for tape decks with the r-a-w function, I have found some with 3 heads - is that the same?? <BR> <BR>I am looking for a deck over a reel-to-reel as it would be much better &#43; convenient for live use, as a deck can be put into a rack. Also, I plan to modify the deck with a speed control. <BR> <BR>If you have any suggestions or models u know of that would be wicked, <BR> <BR>Big up for this site!

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Tape echo simulators

Post by interruptor » Tue Oct 28, 2003 12:51 pm

elemental: the r-a-w function is only possible with 3 heads. in general i would think that every tape with three heads also has the r-a-w function &#40;why else should the manufacturer install separate write and read heads?&#41; but i would still ask the seller to make sure you actually get what you need.

Elemental
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 11:58 am

Tape echo simulators

Post by Elemental » Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:32 pm

Yo interruptor, nice 1 for the tip, I just got it working with a 3-head deck that was lying around - cant find our digital delay though <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... rt/sad.gif" ALT=":&#40;"> <BR> <BR>I've been comparing it to the logic tape delay, it sounds nothing like it! It maybe doesnt have the fidelity of a reel-to-reel but shit it sounds cool!! Especially tweaking the eq on the mixer ... wicked. <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR> <BR>Thank you!

munk2000xl
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:01 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by munk2000xl » Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:01 pm

in theory it's possible to make a tape echo unit just with a mixer and a RAW tape deck. just need to make a cassette tape that loops. this isn't too hard if you're patient and have some fine tools &#40;stuff you'll prolly have already if you edit tape concrete style, like tweezers, fine sissors/razorblades, tape&#41;. some cassette tapes even have screws holding them together for easy dis/assembly. <BR> <BR>basically just make a loop with the tape already in the cassette and feed it through the front as usual. remove the excess tape &#40;you can leave the spools in to keep things from getting hung up if you want&#41;. then reassemble the case. this should give you a cassette that has a loop on each side. if you use the right tape and get a good slice/edit you should have a nice loop going in your tape deck. i wouldn't worry about the tension too much cause the capsan will keep pulling it across the head. <BR> <BR>thats as far as i got last night. but i'm hoping i'll be able the throw the cassette into a RAW tape deck and with a little clever signal routing through my mixer, make an echo unit. i'm planning on running a signal out from my mixer &#40;prolly with my aux&#41; into the deck then running the monitor output back into my aux return. might take some finiking but i figure i can get something going. <BR> <BR>i'm guessing the quality on the cassette loop will make for some interesting results. hope this helps. <BR> <BR>ps. this thread is awesome. <BR> <BR>-munk

jimmer
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:38 pm

Tape echo simulators

Post by jimmer » Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:38 pm

hi guys, great site! ive just got a korg stage echo se-300 and its a bit on the wobbly side..does anyone else have one of these so i can check whats up with mine..should the pinch roller have rubber on it..? and does anyone know a uk based servicer for the motor..its nearly working but not quite..jim

Post Reply