DUB DUB DISCUSSION BOARD
A place to discuss the production techniques of dub music.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hi again.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> OTHER GENERAL DUB TOPICS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shintogurl

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:10 pm    Post subject: Hi again. Reply with quote

Hi folks. Just a quick post to say hi as I'm new to the forum. I already posted this in the none Dub section but thought I'd put it here too as it is relevant I think. Anyway.
I have loved Reggae for years but have only really got into Dub reggae in the last few years. I am an amateur musician and producer and I am at college at the moment studying Music Tech. Unfortunately due to living expenses I won't be able to do the 2nd year of the course. But I am hoping to take what I have learned from the first year and build on that and eventually start my own studio.
I really want to try and make Dub style recordings, mainly Reggae but also trying to add the Dub influence on other tunes. I have not really had any success yet in trying to make a Dub recording as I have lacked the equipment and don't fully have the knowledge of the VSTs available to me yet. I have made a track that is on Soundcloud at the moment that is an experiment in learning how to do Dub effects. https://soundcloud.com/shintogurl/some-kinda-dub I don't think it's very good really, but it's a start. It was done on an iPad app, Rebirth by Propellorhead. I think I can do better with practice and hopefully will soon be able to produce a real recording and then do a dub version using real drums and instruments.