Roland Space Echo RE-3

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
David Prophet
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:16 pm

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by David Prophet » Mon Jan 06, 2003 1:18 pm

Hi! Does anyone know anything about this effect! I'm planning to by it for 140 euro, have no experience of space echoes so would be glad for some help! <BR> <BR>/David Prophet

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by interruptor » Mon Jan 06, 2003 1:34 pm

there is a device called roland re 301. if it is in good shape 140Euro is a good price. <BR>see <A HREF="http://www.foi.hr/~rlogozar/mbsn1/Analo ... html">this page</A> for an overview of the different roland tape echoes.. <BR> <BR>peace <BR>daniel

aleph
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:08 pm

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by aleph » Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:26 pm

I use the re 301 I can tell you it sounds <BR>very well for rootsdub specially for drums <BR>but the saturation come's fast for synt. <BR>&#40;gotta fight with the noise but still very <BR>possible&#41; <BR>140 euro is a very good price <BR> dubwise

David Prophet
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:16 pm

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by David Prophet » Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:34 pm

Thanx for the help! Is the RE-301 and the RE-3 almost the same. He said that the RE-3 was a digital space echo. <BR> <BR>David

aleph
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:08 pm

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by aleph » Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:54 pm

i prefer tape echo <BR>when i bougth my first one &#40;dynachord&#41; <BR>i ve sold all my digital effect; <BR>for this saturation that make drums living <BR>and the reinjection that make typical dub <BR>echo effect &#40;not possible whith digital&#41;

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by interruptor » Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:13 pm

ok now i got it.. there was really a device called re-3! it was officially called "digital space echo" by roland. i don't know if it really gets close to an analog space echo device with a real tape inside, but it's probably better than other digital echo units. <BR>it seems it went out of production long time ago. here are a few reviews from happy users: <BR><A HREF="http://www.effectsdatabase.com/reviews/ ... reviews</A> <BR><A HREF="http://www.delatronics.co.uk/spaceechoes2.htm">space echo overview including re-3</A> <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://home1.inet.tele.dk/swh/re3/index.html">this danish page</A> seems to be an add of someone who tries to sell his re-3. is someone around who understands danish and can tell us if there is more useful info on this page?

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by interruptor » Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:20 pm

aleph: tape saturation CAN be emulated digitally in quite good quality, but it's only in recent years that people really took interrest in doing this. therefore i doubt that the re-3 which is a pretty old digital device does it.

aleph
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:08 pm

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by aleph » Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:29 pm

I ve got a friend who uses an old digital echo by <BR>roland&#40;dont kwnow the name&#41; it sound quite good and you right , <BR>the reinjection works very very well but the dry sound is not affected like the old tape echo: <BR>a sort off compression with transistor saturation <BR>that make your sound"old"

Gabriel Magno
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 3:25 am

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by Gabriel Magno » Fri Oct 24, 2003 3:25 am

I have a Roland Re-301. Can you use both the chorus and echo functions at the same time? <BR> <BR>Thanks, <BR> <BR>Gabriel Magno

sean flora
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:59 pm

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by sean flora » Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:59 pm

I have both an RE-201 and an RE-3. <BR>The RE-3 is a great and weird box. It does not sound like the 201. It does not sound like anything else on the planet. The reverb setting is dark and warbly and strange. <BR>I bought it on ebay accidently 10 years ago &#40;before I knew the difference&#41; I still use it! <BR> <BR>sean

dub freak
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:05 pm

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by dub freak » Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:05 pm

is this echo generate repeat noise when it sets to extreamly short delay time with long feed back? <BR>I am looking for the wicked delay either analog or digital which could generate self noise.

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by interruptor » Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:03 pm

dub freak: i don't know about the re-3, but the re-301 definitely does what you want.

mellotones
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:18 am

Roland Space Echo RE-3

Post by mellotones » Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:31 am

The unit records incoming audio to a loop of magnetic tape, then replays the audio over a series of several playback heads before it's erased again by new incoming audio. The effect is said to be an unpredictable delay that is warm and gritty sounding. There are several control dials on the device that alter such aspects as tape speed, number of repeats, level, and intensity, that can be tweaked to a user's liking. Despite its age, the Space Echo is widely sought after, and still used by many bands to this day One of my favorite effects to use and listen to is tape-based delay. <BR> <BR>check this out: <BR><A HREF="http://www.topictracker.org/index.php?& ... ace%2BEcho" TARGET="_top">http://www.topictracker.org/index.php?& ... 43;Echo</A> <BR> <BR>Respect.

Post Reply