DUB DUB DISCUSSION BOARD
A place to discuss the production techniques of dub music.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Space echo 150 - Effect not working

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> EFFECTS : DELAY : TAPE DELAY : ROLAND (SPACE ECHO, 101, 301, ..)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dubba



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2003 3:25 pm    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

Hey there. I got some 1/4" endless loop tape from a guy here in town that sells to radio stations all over the country. The back is lubricated. I cut about a 13 ft run of it and spliced it at 45 degrees. The splice looks great. The ends meet perfectly etc. I then threaded the tape through the unit according to the diagram (much easier than I expected it to be since it just sort of feeds itself in to the tape bay area once you thread it so long as you guide it properly). However, there is no effect.

The way I understand it, the side of the tape that is somewhat more dull than the other is the side that goes agaist the heads. That's the way I tried it first at least. I then tried threading it the other way (shiniest side against the heads). Still I get no effect. I have my guitar plugged in to the instrument jack and an amp plugged in to the output jack. The normal output is working fine just no effect threaded either way. BTW the splice joining the two ends... There is not anything funky about the way you connect them is there? I have the splice tape placed on the shinier side so that the dull sides are joined together. In other words, there is no splice tape on the dull side.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dubba



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2003 10:22 pm    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

Another question too: Is it possible that the unit is stuck in an echo disabled mode? I know there is a pedal jack there to turn the effect on and off so jujst wondering if it perhaps the effect is actually turned off. BTW there is a red LED just beneath the echo knob.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dubba



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 2:11 am    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

I looked closer at my tape.. it was not spliced quite right. Instead of the two ends meeting there is actually an overlap. It is a very small overlap, but would this screw things up? BTW I got a small pedal to switch the effect on and off so unless its the tape splice problem I think this unit is failing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HM



Joined: 06 Mar 2001
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 4:53 pm    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

Try all inputs, make sure "intensity" and
"echovolume" is turned up high, try all
postions in the big head-selector, make
sure the tape rools, knock gently at the
box when you try new button-kombinations,
(this can reveal cold solderings), the
foot-controller can usually only by-pass
as long as connected, I dont believe the
tape is coarsing the total silence you
describe, turn and push all buttons
several time internal dirt can appear
if it has bee out of funcktion some time

HM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dubba



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:11 pm    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

Thanks much for your advice. Unfortunately for me, I have tried your suggestions with no success. I looked closely at the heads on the unit. The head closest to the front of the unit has two little dark colored stripes. The remaining heads are just silver... it looks as if the dark colored stripes have been worn off or something? I am not sure if this matters or not. The weird thing is yep, there is total silence regarding the echo unit going through my amp. When the tape is rolling I do not hear it out of my amp at all. I can cut the Echo on and off and notice absolutely no change in sound, other than the click through the amp when it powers on and off. I tried moving the dial around. I can hear pops and hissing in the amp when I turn those dials as well. There are six settings and I tried them all. Turned the echo volume, intensity, etc. to max. I paid 300 bucks for this thing (Ebay). The guy is willing to refund me it seems. I do not mind having to pull a few tricks to get it working, but if this thing is beyond hope then I will just return it asap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dubba



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:30 pm    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

Well the only thing that has changed... When I crank the volume up really loud on my amp I can now hear the sound of the tape running across the heads. Just a short clicking noise when it runs across the splice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dubba



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:47 pm    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

Another update! Well, if you have seen a space echo 150 then you know there are multiple outputs. There is one output that just reads 'echo' and one that is 'direct'. If not using the 'echo' jack then the 'direct' jack is supposed to be direct sound + echo effect. Anyway.... what I did was plug my amp in to the 'echo' jack. The amp is a fender blues junior. Usually I play that thing at volume around 2 and it is plenty loud for me. Well I found that when plugged in to the 'echo' jack the amp gets very quiet. I cranked the volume up to 10 and could barely hear the sound coming out of the amp but guess what... the echo effect was working on it! It was definitely working. The adjustment knobs were changing the delay around etc. just as expected. This does not solve my problem however. I wish not to turn my fender blues junior amp to max volume only to faintly hear an echo effect :) Why is the echo effect not being applied to the 'direct' output jack?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dubba



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:27 am    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

bump :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 1:13 am    Post subject: Space echo 150 - Effect not working Reply with quote

DELETED
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> EFFECTS : DELAY : TAPE DELAY : ROLAND (SPACE ECHO, 101, 301, ..) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group