DUB DUB DISCUSSION BOARD
A place to discuss the production techniques of dub music.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MIDI wiring

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> BEGINNERS QUESTIONS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
I-man



Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 4:14 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

Hello guys,
i have this one question which i tried to figure out for ages and it's about MIDI.
I have PCI multi I/O system and there's MIDI in and MIDI out ports. Ok, then i have a MIDI controller with MIDI in/out.
I connect MIDI out of the PCI card to MIDI in of the controller and MIDI in of the PCI card to MIDI out of the controller.
My question is - how do i hear any sound of that MIDI communication?
Or should i connect midi out of the PCI card somewhere else? But where?
I mean if I use some VSTi instrument and control it with external MIDI connector.....
I'm totally lost.... :) There's so much articles about it but still i dont get it.
Maybe you dubheads could help me out.
Thanx a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
interruptor



Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 1138
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:12 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

- to play a vsti-plugin (i assume a softsynth) via your external controller (i assume a keyboard) you only need to connect the midi out of the controller to the midi in of your pci-card

- if you don't hear a sound when playing the keyboard check if the midi data you generate with the controller is actually reaching the host software you use to run the vsti (as an example: cubase and logic audio both show incoming midi data in the transport window)
-- if no: check drivers of your pci-card, reinstall/ update if necessary
-- if yes: check if the softsynth receives the midi data (most softsynths have a "midi activity led-light" somewhere on the user surface)
--- if no: check midichannel setting of the softs synth
--- if yes: check in the host software if the audio output of the softsynth is actually connected to a soundcard output.

there are many possible reasons for your problem. you need to narrow down the area where the problem could be. what i wrote above should be a good start in this process. more help is not possible based on the little information you gave on your setup..

hope this helps..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:16 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

I-Man, Your connections are correct.
Now, if you use some software synth/sampler etc.... all your answers are in manuals of the software you use. You have to find out how to correctly configure your system (computer hardware/software). Commonly you go to some sort of Options/Tools/Settings or what ever your main software app menue may have and you do some MIDI-device settings, so your software uses the midi-interface which you are trying to use. You may simply need to select it from installed midi-devise/driver list. Of course you must have your card/interface being correctly installed and your software must support the driver of your card... to begin with.
Again you should carefully look into your card/inteface and software manuals to find 100% correct answaer on how to set your system up.
If you tell us what exactly card/interface you have and what software you are trying to run and what plug-in(s), then somebody who knows the software here may give you more specific unswer.

Also, commonly, you connect MIDI-out from your computer interface to MIDI-in of some other external hardware midi-synth or sampler, so you can use your controller to play and sequence your hardware MIDI device "through" computer-based sequencer. If you don't use any external midi-synthesiser/sampler..., then you may even don't need to connect MIDI-out from computer interface "back" to your midi-controller. Just connect MIDI-out from controller to MIDI-in of computer interface. However, if you controller also IS a midi-synthesizer (like MIDI keyboard synth) and you actually wish to "play" the sound of it by running your computer software sequencer, then you need to connect both, just like you have. Also you may need then to set-up your midi-synthesiser corrctly, so it sends midi-data out, while 'playing sounds' only wheb receiving midi-data through MIDI-in (from external midi-device, in your case - your computer sequencer/midi-interface).

/respects,
/Mike Zee aka Dr. ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:20 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

hah, Daniel, :)
looks like "two guys" are trying to sort of 'trouble-shoot' at the same time.... I wish it was like this at some 'tech-support'(s) outthere.... ;-)

/mz

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
interruptor



Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 1138
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:32 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

yes mike! the bad thing is: quite often one tries to help and never gets any answer. so you don't even know whether the guy who asked ever came back to read the answer..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:24 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

ahhh, Daniel, that is so true ... I actually had that thought. Kind of thinking... what for? Is it a waste of time?
I guess, when seeing people not responding to replies, You can look at it this way: this board is also like a sort of 'collection' of vary dub-related technical situations (q/a). So maybe other people can browse through topics, read and find similar situation/problem/question and score some useful information.
*****
Daniel, have you ever thought about maybe switching to phpBB?
It's a great b-board 'system'. It's custumizable to the bone, has many useful features, like reply e-mail notification, search topics (big important feature!)... etc And you can seamlessly inegrate the board into the overall design of your site, so you keep your main (top/side) site-menue...and stuff like that.
Well, to do so - means ton of work ...grrrrrrrrrr, and I have no idea how can you seamlessly transform and I don't think there's any way to keep all the posts data.
This current board is fine, btw.... It maybe kind of hard to find and not to miss topics/posts thou..., especially for users who are used to phpBB format, which is very popular. People are lasy in general, you know what I mean.
well, I'm not sure why I am even mentioning all this here.... :)

/later, man
/Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
interruptor



Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 1138
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:43 am    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

yes i also thought of moving to a newer board. but moving the messages to another system would mean several days of work. i would have to write special scripts to automate the transfer because cutting and pasting thousands of messages to a new board manually is no option.. i have no time for that! it would be no fun work and nobody pays me for it..
starting from scratch and keeping the old forum as read-only or even deleting it seems also stupid. so, most likely this forum will stay the way it is for ever!
i'm not sure what you mean by "topic search" but this board has a keyword search to find information (see top left, link under "Discussion")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
I-man



Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:30 am    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

No-no-no, actually guys, you dont even know how helpful and uhm.... supportive this discussion board is. I couldnt believe it when i first find it out of all that garbage called Internet.
Really.
I asked something like three questions here and i got all the answers i couldnt find anywhere else. I dont even talk about 'tech support' kinda sites, alright.
You are doing perfectly and i appreciate and respect your work in every single way.
Jah be 'pon your side.
Irie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HM



Joined: 06 Mar 2001
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:43 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

Don´t know why they are so harsh I-man, maybe
it is not aimed at you speciffic,... you come
back next day,... I don´t get it,... I could
feel where they came from in case a week had
passed or something, however it´s correct to
many just blow out their pain,. and run away
never to return
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
interruptor



Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 1138
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:52 am    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

no, my comment was not aimed at I-man..

respect, peace, love, unity to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike Zee



Joined: 20 Mar 2001
Posts: 766
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:09 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

Yeah... nothing personal directed to I-Man... nor anybody else , as I see it.
I'ts just came out, as mentioning the fact, that often guys asking some more general tech question, and there may be variety of possible situation. Then you are trying to help and come out with few possible problems/solution, typing all this 'out of the sky' "maybe" stuff, then asking some specific question about gear/set-up ...and see no reply later.... so it may feel like wasting the time...you know.
well, it's all off topic, but we are having conversation here...arn't we? :)

/respects,
/Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE

_________________
Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE
ZEE DUB LAB
Dr ZEE WORKSHOP
MZEntertainment.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
I-man



Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:56 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

Yes! Finally i got this MIDI controller wired - MIDI Out to MIDI In of the sound card. And i hear all the beautiful sounds of the VSTi keyboard.
But...Using Cubase SX2 - i can not record anything. I pess the Record button, it stays on red. When i press Stop - nothing in there but silence. And the whole "message" or how do they call it - pattern? - goes away from the track the same time when i push stop button.
What should i do to record some midi to the midi track of the Cubase?
I'm kinda lost, so if you could help me out it would be HIGHLY appreciated.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
I-man



Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 5:17 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

....still no cure.
More to it: if i press some key on the controller and THEn push he REC button - then the note is just going on and on, no matter what i play. When i push stop - the MIDI event from the track just disappears away.
Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
interruptor



Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 1138
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

urghh.. you really seem to be in midi hell. it seems you can play an instrument but not record it, right? the never ending note is what happens when the midi command which should stop a note is not received. (a "note start" and a "note end" command is sent over the midi connection each time you press and release a key)

is the sound you hear while playing coming from a vst plugin loaded in cubase or from the hardware keyboard? if it's from the hardware keyboard you need to connect the midi out of the soundcard to the midi in of the keyboard as well, otherwise playback will not work.

it's difficult to say what went wrong without seeing you do it.. i'd propose you check the cubase help (built into the program). there should be some step by step tutorial for your first recording
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Max



Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:23 pm    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

Thanks Interruptor-man.
I solved this. Strangely in Cubase's MIDI Filter options the "Note On" message is filtered off by default. So i just needed to uncheck the Note On inna MIDI Filter menu.
Irie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 4:44 am    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

DELETED
Back to top
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:06 am    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

DELETED
Back to top
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:04 am    Post subject: MIDI wiring Reply with quote

DELETED
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> BEGINNERS QUESTIONS All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group