Help!! Wanna start dubbing!!!!

Moderator: interruptor

Matt

Post by Matt » Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:57 pm

Hi ppl. <BR> <BR>Ok this is where I'm at... <BR>I'm well into punk music which has got me into ska/roots which has in turn led to me listening to dub quite a bit. <BR> <BR>Basically, other than writing punk songs and playing guitar along to roots music I have no production experience. <BR> <BR>I just wanna know whats the best way for me to get around to starting up. I've looked at the the threads on here but Im pretty swamped to be honest. I also live in south Wales so it's difficult to get to know people who're into such music. <BR> <BR>Any help MUCH appreciated, feel free to msn me or email <a href="mailto:matbur59@hotmail.com">matbur59@hotmail.com</a>

DiGiT

Post by DiGiT » Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:34 pm

well basically youd want something preferrably analog to record to, a tape delay, a spring reverb, a phaser pedal or two, some amps, a melodica, a horn section, your regular bass, guitar, organ, drums, etc etc. but once you have all that, the rest comes from you! or so id say. it seems to take a certain time to know a style. part of knowing a style is confidence. you may bring something to the style, instead of it dictating what you write. or so we all hope. you gotta know the rules to break em! now to learn the dub idiom!

Neil C

Post by Neil C » Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:14 pm