Akai s1000

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
Sam
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2002 4:49 pm

Akai s1000

Post by Sam » Mon Jan 28, 2002 3:42 pm

I am thinking of bying an akai s1000 for about 300$. It comes whit 10mb ram, 250mb harddrive and 11 analog out. <BR>Is it god for dub production? <BR> <BR>/Sam

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Akai s1000

Post by interruptor » Mon Jan 28, 2002 5:08 pm

samplers are great for any type of music unless: <BR>- you are not willing to sit down for a few days with the handbook and learn how to program it. <BR>- you are a member of the "digital is evil and computers kill inspiration" league. <BR> <BR>akai samplers have a reputation of being well built and good sounding. <BR> <BR>if you have a fast computer you might also <BR>consider buying a software sampler for about the same price you mentioned.

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Akai s1000

Post by HM » Mon Jan 28, 2002 6:32 pm

I would consider a native solution <BR>If working with computer anyway, <BR>editing is a pain on these small <BR>displayes <BR> <BR>HM

Sam
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2002 4:49 pm

Akai s1000

Post by Sam » Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:28 pm

I allready got a software sampler &#40;HAlion for cubase&#41;. I want to have more analog outs and connect the sampler to my mixingdesk and put my analog effects on the samples &#40;Guitarr, drums, percussion, vocals...&#41;. <BR>Thanx!! <BR> <BR>/Sam

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Akai s1000

Post by Mike Zee » Tue Jan 29, 2002 12:39 am

he he he, Daniel, LOL- ROFL ... <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR>digital is evil league - grrrrrrrrrr, he he <BR> <BR>also, it's true, it takes some time and effort to get some real GOODNESS out of sampler. <BR> <BR>Sam, for $300 it's a good deal. Well, it would be great if the sampler your are buying has no problems and was not damaged. S1000 is an 'old machine' as for today, but it is a well built one. <BR>10Megs of ram is not allot, but enough to have good set of sounds, drums etc to play with, and again, 11 outs will let you to really produce pretty good tracks combining with external mixer/eq/processing. Internal hard drive will let you to store samples/programs without needs to load in/out from and back to sampler. Just keep in mind, like any computer-system, crash may happen, so you need to back up important samples/programs on discs, do not trust 100% to HD... <BR>sure, it would be much better to get new sampler, but it will cost about 3-4 times more. So if you can't wait saving $$$$ for a new one you can get it. Also, it will not be easy to sell it later if you don't like it, so think of getting it sort of forever..., well, just a thought. <BR> <BR>good luck, <BR> <BR>later, <BR>respects, <BR> <BR>/Mike Zee <BR><A HREF="http://www.audiogalaxy.com/bands/mikezee/dub_lab.htm" TARGET="_top">zee dub lab</A>

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Akai s1000

Post by Mike Zee » Tue Jan 29, 2002 1:50 pm

here, Sam, just in case you are trying to buy it an never saw one..., here's a nice pic of it and short info. Link: <A HREF="http://www.vintagesynth.org/akai/s1000.shtml" TARGET="_top">akaiS1000</A>, <BR>these machines are still in use by many producers <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;">..., <BR> <BR>later, <BR> <BR>/Mike Zee

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Akai s1000

Post by Mike Zee » Tue Jan 29, 2002 1:58 pm

here's another site to check w/ some info on older akai samplers: <A HREF="http://www.cs.uu.nl/legacy/jules/Akai" TARGET="_top">akai samplers</A>

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Akai s1000

Post by HM » Thu Jan 31, 2002 7:15 pm

For the same price, additional asio <BR>out&acute;s could be added halion by simply <BR>offering a multi I/O, I use cubase my <BR>self, my first siena 8 I/O did cost me <BR>only aprox 300 $, multitracking possible <BR>as well and capture in 24 bit bla bla <BR> <BR>As for now I am moving to a Hammefall with <BR>16 I/O, soon 24 inputs, in short: on a well- <BR>build PC the multiple I/O&acute;s works well, even <BR>a aps-live solution gives 4 analog outs and <BR>4 digital, my brother uses this, 8 mS latency, <BR>splendid realtime performance possible, solid <BR> <BR>I would bye the akai only for live use <BR> <BR>HM

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Akai s1000

Post by Mike Zee » Fri Feb 01, 2002 4:04 am

HM, Sek'd Siena is pretty good card as for sound quality and in/out options. However, I am not sure if you can compare sampler with just card &#40;meaning same $300&#41;. If you have nice 'computer power', then sure, you can turn it into pretty good multi-track digital recording system, also if you already have some good software&#40;s&#41;, which is not cheap stuff, and you still don't have sampler. Sure you can try to get also some soft-sampler, which often require really good powerfull computer-system, and is not that easy to use as hardware sampler &#40;even hardware sampler is not easy to learn to use productively&#41;. <BR>You see, if you have just old akai1000, all you need on computer side is any system running simple midi-sequencer, and you are sort of ready to produce dubs &#40;well in a sense...you know&#41; <BR> <BR>well, just thoughts on a subject... <BR> <BR>btw, here's pretty good review-page for Sek'd Siena : <A HREF="http://www.pcrecording.com/siena.htm" TARGET="_top">PCRECORDING.COM - Sek'd Siena Review</A>, in case Sam wish to check out. <BR> <BR>respects, <BR> <BR>/Mike Zee <BR><A HREF="http://www.audiogalaxy.com/bands/mikezee/dub_lab.htm" TARGET="_top">zee dub lab</A>

Post Reply