Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by Mike Zee » Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:04 am

Hi all, just a drop on the subject of making yourown stuff. Here's the place with many vary projects. <A HREF="http://sound.westhost.com/projects.htm" TARGET="_blank">Elliott Sound Projects</A> <BR>direct link to spring reverb project: <A HREF="http://sound.westhost.com/project34.htm" TARGET="_blank">Spring Reverb Unit Project</A> <BR>...well, one note thou...this all looks like for advanced user, but in any case it's good for info and general 'education' <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR> <BR>/respects, <BR>/Mike Zee aka Dr ZEE <BR><A HREF="http://www.mzentertainment.com/dub_lab.htm" TARGET="_blank">ZDL</A>

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by HM » Fri Dec 12, 2003 11:35 pm

It can be har to get the spring tanks, the rest <BR>is not rocket-science, having the spring-king I <BR>will not use further time on this for at least <BR>a year or so, but i found that the old guitar- <BR>amp-repair-man was a nice place to ask for <BR>spring-tanks of various size, many amps gets <BR>thrown away, but don&acute;t expect him to remember <BR>what thanks are ok and what defective :-&#41; <BR> <BR>If I visit him I will try to bring home a <BR>handfull of very diffrent tanks for a good <BR>price, but very low priority it has, these <BR>things steal away time in unbelievable dose, <BR> <BR>I also had the illusion of building my own <BR>mixer once, well look what happend to elliots <BR>mixing projct :-&#41; i did visit that page 2-4 <BR>years ago and nothing has happend since LOL <BR> <BR>HM

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by Mike Zee » Sat Dec 13, 2003 6:32 pm

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">I also had the illusion of building my own <BR>mixer once</FONT> <BR><IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> heh heh , HM ..lol <BR>if seriously, I'd say building mixing board from parts &#40;say from scratch&#41; is pretty crazy idea. Taking some old desk, restore it and somehow 'redesign' it - this maybe doable/practical. <BR> <BR>/respects. <BR>/Mike Zee aka DrZEE

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by HM » Sat Dec 13, 2003 6:58 pm

I have just bought a MX8000 that has to do in <BR>many years,... somehow I am thanksfull that I <BR>did not succed building it 20 years ago while <BR>I worked and was educated at Bruel and Kjaer, <BR>first it would have taken 4-5 years, what was <BR>possible to make back then would not fit me <BR>today, also I even need more experience in dub- <BR>producktion and Recording before I know what <BR>I actually need, when I see most my previous drawings I shake my head today, the mixer need <BR>to interact closely with my computer now, pre-amps, metering, etc. aimed for multitracking <BR>is still high priority, now highest, patch- <BR>field, switching funcktions also,. I still <BR>have the aluminium main-frame, and the 48 <BR>modules only holes drilled are the terrible <BR>ones, the long 100 mm&acute;s for all the faders, <BR>rest of the modules are nor drilled yet and <BR>that leaves it all open,.... ;-&#41; <BR> <BR>HM

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by Mike Zee » Sat Dec 13, 2003 7:24 pm

heh heh, start building airplane - make wings, polish them - worry 'bout motor later <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR>&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42; <BR>is your MX8000 behringer eurodesk? <BR>That's what I have for a few years now. It got enough "holes" to feed for dubbing...and it's a heavy beast... I had to build a 'custom' table alone with speaker stands for it...all made of cheapes 2x4 , 4x4 and 2x6&#40;s&#41; ...but I've spent hours and hours sanding it and staining/clossing <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> ...you can see it on the old pic at my basement studio-corner <A HREF="http://www.mzentertainment.com/studio.htm" TARGET="_blank">here</A>, btw I've sold my quitars <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... rt/sad.gif" ALT=":&#40;"> <BR> <BR>/Mike Zee aka DrZEE

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by HM » Sat Dec 13, 2003 8:13 pm

yes eurodesk, previous a fostex 812 and a small akai desk, so this is a great improvement, with <BR>my RME 9652 and two 8 ch VC-8 AD/DA I&acute;m equipped <BR>for multitracking, the MX8000 preamps are not <BR>the worse, especially not when considered I got <BR>24 of them, inserts and low-cut as well,...... <BR> <BR>what about your setup, still cakewalk ? any new <BR>synths ? or elsewhat ? &#40;nice to se a picture&#41; <BR>and yes good furniture is a must, and so is real <BR>instruments :-&#41; <BR> <BR>Henrik

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by Mike Zee » Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:51 am

oh, cool, Henrik... nice to see somebody with the same desk around <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR>Preamps are OK for genearl use. Sure it would be nice to have one extra HI-TOP dedicated preamp in the rack ..thou ... Also depending on what you recording. <BR>Explore 'subgroups' ...there's allots of "hidden" possabilities there how to route signals ..especially effects for dubbing. Btw, this desk have planty of in/outs ... I actually portially use it as a 'patchbay'.... well in a sense. If you have energy and some extra cash for cables/jecks .... then sure go for batchbay field, it's a puzzle thou <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> After trying and failing to set it up so it's always does what I need for different tasks - I gave up on it, but instead built a sort of 'oppen cable hanger' above the desk, so I have all uots and ins from/to gear there.... and patch stuff into the desk depending on what I am after at the moment.... just lable each cable, grab'and'plug .... method <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR>I don't have any new synth gear, nor I am looking forward for any. I kind of lost interest in buying new synth. I have couple reck-synth for basic needs &#40;I have JV-1080 with four exp boards..., still use e-mu orbit for some drums/bass sounds... and mostly just program/use sampler &#40;akai s3000xl&#41; for what ever other sounds/samples... <BR>For midi sequencing I use older version of cakewalk proaudio 6.0 and dedicated old computer w/W-95 &#40;I also have to keep w-95, because my opcode 8-port midi-interface does not work with XP&#41;... this is all I need really, i can make advanced midi sequence and sync it with audio/or any external multitrack &#40;i usually sync akai DR4s via MTC&#41;... what else do I need ...? I've got new sony-vaio computer , 'cos I just had to have it for all other kind of works, but don't use any of its power for music production, except for some post-stuff like CD-burning, some sample/sound designs etc...&#41; dumb, but i sort of don't have energy to play with newer software..., it's kinda borring as well, heh heh <BR>I miss my guitars for sure... if I ever get some extra cash - i'll get myself strat... gotta have one.... <BR> <BR>/respects, <BR>/Mike Zee aka DrZEE

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by HM » Thu Dec 18, 2003 10:31 am

mike, you could go 98, much better, normally <BR>it eats a 95-driver, 98SE even better, and if <BR>you can figure then try 98Lite, very solid, I <BR>use this for two old celeron 600&#40;900&#41;, but the <BR>browser will be gone :-&#41; <BR> <BR>I go vitual foremost, networked, only new add <BR>is a Micro-Modular, and Yamaha S08 as master- <BR>keyboard, btw new Sampler: <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://www.vsampler.com" TARGET="_top">http://www.vsampler.com</A> <BR> <BR>In the next year more time is available :-&#41; <BR> <BR>&#40;Just droped a lot work&#41; <BR> <BR>HM

User avatar
Mike Zee
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 5:58 am
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by Mike Zee » Thu Dec 18, 2003 10:59 am

Henrik, thnX for tips <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR> <BR>well, here's the deal for me. I guess the the main overall reason why I keep w95 is because I have this computer dedicated for music only &#40;and 90% just to drive midi-sequencing part of the production process&#41;... so it does what I need. There are other little issues. I've installed second 10Gig drive, and it was a very tricky task...I almost killed the beast. So after that nightmare I don't want to mess with operating system. Just let it be untill it dies of 'natural cos' ..heh he <BR>I also have old CD-Architect which can not recognize my newer machine's recording drive... couple other things... When the machin dies...then I'll deal with it. <BR>Computer-based samplers are cool... I was seriously thinking about getting gigasampler, now it comes from Tascam..also needed hardware..., but then after calculation, I've figured it's kinda expansive, and it seams like for the best result, you actually better dedicate a computer just for that sampler... it would be really nice thou <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> And on the other hand, i'm so used to hardware sample... it's maybe sort of the way of thinking... load sample and play, it's always a problem for me, when there are to much extra 'visual' on-screen option besids just play/listen... I don't know how to explain it, my "musical" brain works better when I hear...and SEE NOTHING.... same goes to mixin, btw - I need silence, mix-output, meter-bridge and cup'o'coffe - that's the best formular for me <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;"> <BR>&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42;&#42; <BR>Micro-Modular? Is it a mad little red-box? I've seen/heard it while ago in action at my friend's studio - itsa'killer little thing... <BR> <BR>nice chating w'Ya , man <BR> <BR>/respects <BR>/Mike Zee aka DrZEE

User avatar
HM
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 7:49 pm

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by HM » Fri Dec 19, 2003 5:04 pm

>> Micro-Modular? a mad little red-box? <BR> <BR>Yes :-&#41; expandable pics at buttom here: <BR> <BR><A HREF="http://www.fantasyjackpalance.com/fjp/s ... dular.html" TARGET="_top">http://www.fantasyjackpalance.com/fjp/s ... ar.html</A> <BR> <BR>>> I've seen/heard it while ago in action <BR> <BR>Then you know what it is :-&#41; ,.. killer <BR>bass and fat filters, one of the things <BR>I look forward to play with, I did hunt <BR>over a year seccond hand and now got it <BR>heavy screen-edit,.. and inputs and it <BR>transforms into a effect-device also,.. <BR>weak in power though, just one proccesor <BR>frame where the bigger brothers got four <BR>but do all the same things just "one at <BR>a time",.. its ok for me realy <BR> <BR>About to much "bells & Whistles" distract <BR>you in workprocces, vsampler actually is <BR>very "custom-able" , you can set it up to <BR>apear with the most used screens in daily <BR>use, soft-samplers are the way to go realy <BR>but yes, use what you got as long as possible <BR>and maintain you&acute;r usual working proccedure <BR>for some longer, that seems right, when you <BR>bye your next computer you dont need a extra <BR>PC for the sampler, I guess all will work <BR>fine at just one PC, less trouble and better <BR>intergration, anyway I still whant to try <BR>the "multi-PC-adventure" maybe you have <BR>heard about "FX-teleport" it&acute;s a very very <BR>interesting thing in the VST-world, other <BR>virtual instrum./eff. to be placed at other <BR>PC&acute;s while being fully intergrated and in <BR>controll from main DAW, example: "SIR" this <BR>free "world-class" killer-reverb, activate a <BR>extra PC and blow it up without any cpu- <BR>load on main-PC, normal ethernet :-&#41;&#41;&#41;&#41;&#41;

DELETED

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by DELETED » Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:43 pm

DELETED

DELETED

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by DELETED » Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:01 am

DELETED

DELETED

Do it "yourself" - many projects found (incl spr

Post by DELETED » Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:12 am

DELETED

Post Reply