DUB DUB DISCUSSION BOARD
A place to discuss the production techniques of dub music.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How do you record Roland Vdrumz

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> INSTRUMENTS : DRUMS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Radic



Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 15
Location: Nimbin Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:37 pm    Post subject: How do you record Roland Vdrumz Reply with quote

Greetnz
I hav just scored a set of Roland TD3 electric vdrums
dem sound wicked
Whats the best way to record electric drums???????

we hav Midi in/out
+
stereo out or mono out
+
Headphones stereo out

thanx

Cool
Radic
www.earthreggae.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
interruptor



Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 1138
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have no individual outs for each drum sound you are limited when adjusting the drum sound in the mix. (like separate EQing for snare and bass drum). So I'd say you should also record the midi signal. This way you can trigger your own drum samples in a sampler or drum module (hardware or plugin) which has the individual outs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KoCha



Joined: 25 Jan 2002
Posts: 259
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have same drum bro, but was surprised by the noise coming threw the main output... a shame.

Best is to record in MIDI to get each track splitted and then playback midi with a good sampler (or reuse the one of the TD3 but playing each track one by one).

It's the way I use it and I achieve pretty nice sound !

_________________
KoCha, reggae-dub producer

Almighty Dub Records - Independent Reggae Dub Production
Open Dub Foundation - The WorldWide Dub Meeting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Radic



Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 15
Location: Nimbin Australia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx for the tips
eh
I dont have any probs wid Niose from de TD3 st out
check ya leads bro
i use hi qual leads and run dem well away and totaly seperated from any electric power leads
yes i

Yo
dats been mi workaround too
first i record a mono guide drum track of the whole kit while jammin wid the band or as an over dub
then i record each instrument mono to it own track
that works fine for some drummers
but for most well experanced mussoz it better to capture de vibes live
and to make dem a go over their work seams a wast of time since we already decided thats the take we want and it is already recorded


all the Midi drums i tried so far still wont give mi control over each drum
i use Nuendo3 and it comes wid a vst kit LM7 pluss i have tried two other free vst kits Drumatic3 and drumatic VE

has anyone checked BFD yet
i checked a demo it look so cool
but i cant try it propley cause theres no drum kit samples in the demo
grrr
also
BFD is very expensive
is there any cheaper vst drum allturnitive that can deliver?????

another workaround i tried is to record both midi and analog stereo
the TD3 brain will let mi
pan snr and timbarle hard left
kik and toms hard right
and pull the hatz and crash vloume down to bleed levelz or less
now bring de volume fe hatz & crash back up from midi track
and deleate the rest of the kit from midi
again big time waster setting up levelz and headphone mixes
it tendz to level de musso's vibes too
if ya know what i mean
hey i jus tort
what bout if i duplicate a copy of the midi track for each instrument and delete or mute out all i dont want for each track
dat might work
hafe try dat
gota go
guidance
Radic
www.earthreggae.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KoCha



Joined: 25 Jan 2002
Posts: 259
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fuc*** electricity...

Made bad noise in lot of hardware... need to find a solution cause it's too affect my analog fx when mixing...

I want independent dedicate electro alimentation for each of my hardware Wink

BTW I recommend you try the last technik

_________________
KoCha, reggae-dub producer

Almighty Dub Records - Independent Reggae Dub Production
Open Dub Foundation - The WorldWide Dub Meeting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DUB DISCUSSION BOARD Forum Index -> INSTRUMENTS : DRUMS All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group