ECHO LEVEL PROBLEMS (INTENSITY?)- HELP!

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
purevil
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:14 pm

ECHO LEVEL PROBLEMS (INTENSITY?)- HELP!

Post by purevil » Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:14 pm

So i was wondering wether you could give me a quick piece of advice? Basically i was attempting to service my space echo 101 last night with my teacher at college, we cleaned the heads and contact areas with alcohol swabs and they came up beautifully clean then the pincer wheel with soapy water. We then spliced a new tape together from quategy 1/4 tape the same length as the original( i think-please tell me if a bad measurement could be a problem) and loaded it up. Since playing it, you can hear an amazing difference of A)loss of quality and B)Loss of echo. Where originally i could turn the intensity up and get amazing waves of distorted delays, now even at full i get nothing! Could it be that the tape just isn't the right type-surely i dont need to use the original style rt1's or whatever they are called! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help me out-i have a gig in about two weeks and i'm completely stumped!

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1151
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

ECHO LEVEL PROBLEMS (INTENSITY?)- HELP!

Post by interruptor » Thu Dec 02, 2004 8:50 pm

maybe you put in the tape with the wrong side towards the tape head? this would result in low or no sound.. <BR>there are already discussions on this board about replacement loops and what tape type to use. for example these: <BR><A HREF="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... 9342">1</A> <BR><A HREF="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... 3227">2</A> <BR><A HREF="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... 9930">3</A> <BR> <BR>hope this helps <IMG SRC="http://www.interruptor.ch/cgi-bin/discu ... /happy.gif" ALT=":&#41;">

Post Reply