Tape loops in Dub

Moderator: interruptor

Post Reply
neddy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 6:08 pm

Tape loops in Dub

Post by neddy » Sat Aug 18, 2001 7:31 pm

As i can't afford a sampler, to loop drum beats or bass phrases i recently started cutting tape loops for my reel to reel. I was thinking of getting my hands on a couple more reel to reels and running loops of the same BPM thru delays, flangers, vibrato and envelope filter. Anyone else tried this kind of thing?

User avatar
interruptor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Tape loops in Dub

Post by interruptor » Sun Aug 19, 2001 12:35 am

i think you'll have big problems keeping your loops synchronized if they are running on different tape machines. the approach could still be very interesting. we had some discussion about tape loops already in the "Lee Perry on 4 tracks" thread. (see the posts were Muslim Gauze is mentioned)

DC
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 9:18 am

Tape loops in Dub

Post by DC » Mon Aug 20, 2001 10:21 am

There are nuff reel to real machines that have sync fuctions. Like a lot of Revox machines. If you want to make loops on tape, you have to cut very precice to get them synced properly.

nem
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:59 pm

Tape loops in Dub

Post by nem » Mon Nov 05, 2001 10:50 am

The Simms Watts Echo DEk can make tape loops as well as being a pretty good tape echo / reverb unit , i dont think any other machine can do this.

nem
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:59 pm

Tape loops in Dub

Post by nem » Mon Nov 05, 2001 10:50 am

The Simms Watts Echo DEk can make tape loops as well as being a pretty good tape echo / reverb unit , i dont think any other machine can do this.

Looter
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 5:34 pm
Location: US

Tape loops in Dub

Post by Looter » Mon Nov 05, 2001 9:48 pm

You can play mono loops of up to 15 feet or so on any space echo type of tape delay with the sound on sound feature. I would say use a multitrack reel to reel if you want multiple loops going at the same time and in sync though.

Post Reply